The post-Alt.Fiction breakdown, part four.

30 04 2008

The third session I attended was Building a Career featuring Simon Clark, Michael Marshall Smith and John Jarrold. Again, an informative one for newcomers, this focussed on the rocky road between acceptance and publication.

Now I confess that it got a little derailed by Mike’s maverick cock, but apart from that (okay, including that) it was genius throughout.

There was a great deal of urging new writers to think outside the genre box, to write something wholly their own rather than simply plod along with the rest of their chosen genre, and I thought it was a very positive, encouraging panel. John added his usual dose of stark realism to keep the balance, and across the board the panel was wholly motivational and filled with all those fantastic insights that new writers need to know.

Alt.Fiction is definately shaping up to be one of those events that I belive all new genre writers should attend.

Actions

Information

3 responses

30 04 2008
Ian Alexander Martin

I may be sorry I asked… but…

Now I confess that it got a little derailed by Mike’s maverick cock,

What fresh hell was that about? Michael Marshall Smith having a cock isn’t too surprising, but ‘maverick’? And how did it come up?

I want to use a different turn of phrase than “how did it come up”, but that’s the least suggestive thing I can offer, sadly.

1 05 2008
Trudi Topham

Well, see, Mike was suggesting that crime writers have a tendency to just make their own version of a maverick cock… COP! MAVERICK COP! Or Cock… That could work… 😉

1 05 2008
Ian Alexander Martin

I thank you.

I think.

….errrr, yeah.

Leave a Reply

